Welcome to MJW Productions Ltd

A S H T O N   C E L E B R A T I O N
duration: 75:00 approx

Screened in cinemas across the UK, this celebration of work by choreographer, Sir Frederick Ashton is now available on Blu-ray and DVD from Royal Opera House.

La Valse 13:06
Choreography Frederick Ashton - all ballets
Music Maurice Ravel
Designs André Levasseur
Lighting design John B Read - all ballets

A large corps de ballet whirls across the stage and three couples dance pas de deux, evoking a nostalgic vision of a 19th-century ballroom. Maurice Ravel’s score was commissioned by Serge Diaghilev for the Ballets Russes. Diaghilev never used the score – claiming it was not a ballet but ‘the portrait of a ballet’.

Méditation from Thaïs 06:06
Music Jules Massenet
Costume designs Anthony Dowell
Dancer Benjamin Hristov

A pas de deux for two soloists perfectly matches the evocative sounds of Jules Massenet’s Méditation religieuse from his opera Thaïs (1894)

Voices of Spring 04:50
Music Johann Strauss II
Costume designs Julia Trevelyan Oman
Dancers Choe Zucchetti

A ballerina and her partner follow the swirling melodies of Johann Strauss II’s Frühlingsstimmen waltz with show-stopping choreography.

Monotones 1 and 11 07:30 + 09:00
Music Erik Satie
Designs Frederick Ashton

These two short, non-narrative ballets each present an extended pas de trois that is perfectly matched to Satie’s haunting piano music.

Marguerite and Armand 32:08
Music Franz Liszt Piano Sonata in B Minor
Designs Cecil Beaton
Marguerite - Tamara Rojo, Armand - Sergei Polunin

As Marguerite – a Parisian courtesan – lies on her deathbed, she recalls her tragic love affair with Armand in a feverish series of flashbacks.

C R E D I T S :

F R E D E R I C K   A S H T O N

director for the screen
M A R G A R E T   W I L L I A M S

lighting director
J O H N    B   R E A D

P H I L   P E A R C E
M A R T I N   S C H L O T T E
P R A V I N   S H E T T Y
A N D Y   W A T T
M A R T Y N   W A T T S

script supervisor
G E M M A  D I X O N

vision mixer
P R I S C I L L A  H O A D L E Y

S T E V E   E V E L E I G H

M A R G A R E T  W I L L I A M S

© Royal Opera House 2013

Return to Dance